Volkswagen Bus Door Decorations and Bulletin Board

IMG_2687.JPGI made both of these directly before Spring break which perfectly connected with the themes of traveling and adventure. For the door decorations, I used construction paper and scrapbook paper. The headlights were made with some silver tape and the wheels were made by coloring the bottom black with a sharpie. I hand picked different quotes relating to travel and adventure for each of my residents and wrote it on the right side of the bus. Since our school is in Maine, the license plate is a Maine one with their room number as the license plate number.¬†After I made myself a stencil and got into the routine, they didn’t take all that long to make.

For the bulletin board, I started by making a larger Volkswagen bus from the side view using a tie dye foam sheet. This one took a while. The quote at the top is from Alice in Wonderland and says, “Actually, the best gift you could have given her was a lifetime of adventures”. On the board, I also wrote “What’s an adventure that’s on your Summer bucket list? Write it on a tree”. I left a marker hanging on the board and I noticed that the trees filled up with ideas pretty quickly. This was one of my most successful interactive bulletin boards.

Everything on my blog takes place at the University of Maine at Presque Isle. Feel free to contact me with any questions, Alexandra.desruisseaux@maine.edu.

Leave a Reply

